FORWARD is my #oneword

The annual #oneword time has almost passed. I had to try this one on for size before committing.  I wanted it to fit.  Not too tight, not too loose, just right.  And I wanted to really feel it.

So it’s three weeks into 2016 and I’m feeling FORWARD.  I’ve turned a significant corner at my new school this year.  We’ve got some amazing things in the hopper, positive attitudes abound and happy kids fill our classrooms.  Where else would we look but FORWARD?

It’s going to be a big week.  Tour today, Apple training for 4 hours this afternoon, elementary math pilot meeting tomorrow, elementary prep committee, staffing meeting, another tour on Friday, four SSTs and three IEPs and two classroom observations.  It’s too easy to get bogged down.  My eyes stay focused on what’s next, what’s ahead of us, the big picture.

FORWARD means short term goals, long term goals and celebrating everything in between.  It means future planning with students: What are you going to be when you grow up?  What’s your learning goal for the week?  Tell me how you’ve practiced kindness today.

Some people can’t latch on to just #oneword.  I get that.  But I’m also big on physical mantras and reminders.  I surround myself with meaningful tchotchkes to inspire, admonish and motivate.  A rock from a 12,500 ft summit in Colorado (an accidental hike and a story for another day), a shell from one of my many walks on the beach, a picture of my #oneword, a student card filled with hearts… I surround myself with meaningful nudges of all shapes and sizes. Picking #oneword is just such a motivator.

The best part of the whole process for 2016 is this…

My choice of backgrounds for both 2015 and 2016 (the only years I’ve selected #oneword thus far) are exactly the same location.  It’s at the Two Rock Historical Marker on Valley Ford Road.  I drive by this scenic spot on my way out to the beach for a walk.  Another of my visual reminders: stop and enjoy the scenery, take it all in and don’t be in such a hurry.

So I’m excited to share my #oneword.  Mostly because I took it for a test drive these past three weeks, and it’s a perfect fit.  I feel it, and I’m ready.  FORWARD

Leave a Reply

