Post #cuerockstar doldrums and a cure

Last Friday night we kicked off the CUE Rockstar Teacher Camp season with our Petaluma mini-camp.  I felt way over my head as I prepped my Pecha Kucha, shreds and two sessions.  I believe in pushing myself and embracing the discomfort of a good challenge.  #cuerockstar did not disappoint.

Pecha Kucha Slide #1

Pecha Kucha Slide #1

Tuesday I went back to work.  The high of #cuerockstar left me looking for something else, doldrums, searching for the next challenge… not 100% sure.

You know that feeling, that intangible feeling when all your neurons are firing and you’re smiling and doing good work… it probably has a name.  Synergy, flow… whatever.  That’s the feeling of #cuerockstar.

My first day’s session was on screen-casting with Snagit.  The group accomplished a lot.  The lightbulbs were flashing all over the room.  They were learning, I was learning, we were growing together for the benefit of our students.  Students were always at the center of the WHY.

Day 2 was trickier.  We tackled Sites.  Build a Google Site in 2 hours? Yep.  It was work.  For all of us.  The puzzled look and furrowed brow that begs a personal check in.  The triumph of a created page complete with content and images.  A follow up email to this group validated our work.  They are excited to cultivate this new communication opportunity for students and families.

For me, I learned a lot about adult learners.  Previous conference and training experiences didn’t provide this insight.  We were hands on, wrestling with the tools, considering the applications, making mistakes and sharing our triumphs.  Real learning.  Warts and all.  The time (2 hours) made all the difference.

I want all the teachers I work with to experience professional development to the depth of #cuerockstar.  How can I make that happen?  The frenzy of day-to-day teaching and learning at school and all the other “stuff” steals away our energy and time for adult learning.  How can I create more time and depth?

My friend Jennifer Kloczko shared, “The cure?  Make your school like rockstar everyday.”

Now there’s a concept.  How can I do that?  Time and depth are a good beginning.  Choice is key.  Focusing on what teachers actually WANT to learn.  

Why aren’t I talking about students? Student choice, depth of learning, student time… That’s another important conversation.  But our students don’t stand a chance if the adults orchestrating teaching and learning everyday aren’t nurtured too.

Another In over my head  moment.  How do I make professional learning like #cuerockstar at my school?  Thanks crew, for challenging my thinking, firing me up and motivating me to bring this experience home.

Out of the doldrums and into creativity-mode.  Time, depth, choice.  We can do this.

 

Leave a Reply

