Making their day!

Started a pretty typical (no such thing) day at Grant Elementary School.  Checked in with our substitute secretary, organized leadership team announcements on the counter, turned on the walkie-talkie, hung keys around my neck, set out for the front to greet kids arriving on this cloudy-ish Friday morning.  Check.  Check.  And check.

After a few classroom visits, I decided to dig myself out of two piles looming on the counter in my office… ugh.  A total peeve of mine.  #slowchated this week allowed me to vent a bit–What angers you about your classroom/office?  Paper.

Voices outside my enormous front window pulled at my attention.  One of our kindergarten classes had marched out to the front of school; the teacher, Mrs. RC was spreading out two blankets, and down they sat, clipboards in hand.  What are they up to?

So the piles remained inside, while I wandered outside.

Data and statistics, kindergarten style.  Each student had a clipboard with a data sheet and a pencil at the ready.  Predications were already made about the number of cars they would count driving by as well as the most numerous color of car.  Awesome.

kinder data collection

Unfortunately, Grant Avenue is not a busy street.  Mrs. RC was working hard to make this exciting.  Wait, I hear a car!  Oh no, nevermind.  2 minutes later.  Wait!  I hear a car!  And one would appear, thank heavens.

Now this elementary principal happens to drive a yield-sign-yellow Jeep.  And you can imagine the sad state of the yellow car data box on… waiting patiently for a tally mark… sniff sniff….

It was great!  I was a one car parade.  My pageant wave was perfect as I smiled and passed an enthusiastic, data collecting group of kinder students at the front of Grant School.

I made their day.  And they made mine.

Elementary school rocks!

Leave a Reply

