Thank you @DaisyDyerDuerr ! I agree 100%

A blog about a blog…. weird but so necessary.  I’ve been thinking about this piece of writing for two whole days now.

Let’s start with the link: http://daisydyerduerr.com/dont-ever-let-anyone-take-away-excellence/

Honestly, the title put me off a bit because I wasn’t feel all that excellent when I was scrolling through my Feedly that evening.  Tired, worn out, grumpy–who knows?  But I did click and continue reading (+1 for me).

Daisy had had a bad week.  A really bad week.  As a principal, it was clear all that she was and WASN’T saying due to confidentiality and general inappropriateness in venting so specifically to the whole wide world.  I get it.  You would really like to get it all out: names, events, quotes, the good/bad & ugly from the world of school administration.  It  might be cathartic to just dump the bad week in a blog.

But instead, Daisy channeled her friend Jimmy Casa (@casas_jimmy) to give the whole yucky week a positive spin.  She said, “One of the most important things I have learned from the him over the past nine months is the Resiliency it takes to be a leader and that you MUST ACCEPT THE CHALLENGE to REMAIN POSITIVE.”  Amen sister!

We have a difficult job, a rewarding job, an exhilarating job–I believe.  And to overcome the really tough days, really tough moments, we must, MUST stay positive and rise above the fray to continue to love what we do.

As I read Daisy’s post, I also thought of the soon-to-be-released (?) Lead Like a Pirate by Dave Burgess (@burgessdave).  I’m making that last part up, but it would be AWESOME!  There are parts of leadership that are not my favorite.  My job is to find the nugget that does fire me up and bring my passion to each thing I do.  Just as with Teaching like a Pirate, when we Lead like a Pirate, we encourage our staff to be their best, we impart our passion for teaching and learning to our community and through a focus on positivity, we infect our campuses with a ‘can do’ attitude and point of view.  And more importantly to recover from the difficult bits and move forward without negative residue clinging to my attitude and actions.  Even when a week is beyond yucky.

Thanks Daisy.  I accept the challenge.  I’m putting your quote on my wall today!

 

One thought on “Thank you @DaisyDyerDuerr ! I agree 100%

  1. WoW Catina! I am beyond honored!!! Reading this resonated to me more strongly than my own writing because I could “feel” your reflective piece.
    Thank you for sharing your Genius ! I needed that!!!! Things like this are how I can remain positive!!!
    In gratitude & appreciation- Daisy

Leave a Reply

