Summer Reading

I’ve always read multiple books at one time. Really bothered my elementary teachers and created clutter for my mom and dad. My interests alls varied and I never wanting to be without reading material.

I carry on this tradition, still cluttering our living space with New Yorkers piled up, books on every surface and many dogeared leadership magazines strewn about.

Right now, I’ve got three titles going.  Anil’s Ghost by Michael Ondaatje. I love his style, language and imagery.  Such a treat. I plan to read everything he writes.

I’m also reading (and rereading and generally marking up) Dave Burgess’ Teach Like a Pirate. So inspiring and practical.  I want every teacher to read it and attend his workshop.

Last, but not least is Lucy Calkin’s book on language arts and Common Core.  It’s got a really long title that escapes me at the moment.  Getting my act together for next year’s work.

It’s a cool trifecta going-professional inspiration, summertime escape and pragmatics.

I’ve already got my post-Ondaatje title picked out.  Sugar Street from the Palace Walk trilogy.  Now I just need the inspiration and pragmatics titles. Ideas?

One thought on “Summer Reading

  1. 21st Century Skills: Rethinking How Students Learn. It’s an anthology including chapters by Darling-Hammond, DuFour & DuFour, Gardner, etc.

Leave a Reply

