Things that keep me up at night

Unbelievable, the things that keep me up at night.

I thought it would be teacher morale, test scores, student discipline, parent concerns…

No.  I sit bolt upright in bed worried that I forgot to lock the multi use room doors properly.  I toss and turn that the bus is late to pick up our Boys and Girls Club students.  I left the bathrooms open after our New Family Potluck.  The PE shed might not have gotten locked.  Do you sense the theme?  Weird.  Locks, security and keys, generally speaking.  Is there a dream analyzer in the house?

Good grief.

I don’t know if it would be better or worse to be sleepless over ‘heavier’ issues, but I sure feel stupid when I wake up groggy and realize why.

On a serious note, I’ve never had problems sleeping.  Now I do.  I toss and turn, worry about weird things, toss and turn some more.  I’ve resorted to tossing and turning on the couch a few nights to ensure that at least one adult in the house gets a good night sleep.

I don’t feel particularly stressed.  And yet my mind feels to be on a whole new track.  I’m trying to stay prepared for 3 days ahead–meetings, agendas, staff communication.  It’s working fairly well, so in that regard, I’m moving forward without frenzy or panic.

Cheers.  To a good night sleep.  And for goodness sake, lock the front door.

 

Leave a Reply

