Priorities–how long can the list be

Looking toward my first administrative position,  my list of firsts, priorities and must do‘s is getting really long.  Ridiculously long.  So I tried to code the list to make sense of it.  No good.  I consolidate like areas.  No good.

It’s exhilarating.  I think, I write, I talk, I read, I think and write some more.

Connected Principals is a blog I go to regularly.  I appreciate the variety of perspective, the earnestness of their work and the generosity of their sharing.  When my own thoughts, ideas and plans get swirling out of control, I read a post or two that brings me back to earth.  Not in any crashing, reality-smacks-you-in-the-face kind of way, but an even keeled, here’s what it is and here’s what isn’t way.

Twitter actually exacerbates my problem because so many darn good ideas are floating around out there!  It’s exhilarating in it’s own way to investigate and share.  Found Leadership Freak‘s latest post on Twitter How to Chose your Leadership Identity.  Now I’m really contemplating my lists a bit differently.  How do my lists compare to my leadership identity?  Is my identity in my priorities?  Who am I and where do I stand?  Actually the right question is How do my priorities reflect who I am and where I stand?

So now my lists are peeling away to reveal more realistic priorities and vision.  It’s exhilarating.

Leave a Reply

