Barbara Kingsolver is Amazing

Nothing new here and quite a bit of bias on my part…

My favorite book of all time is The Poisonwood Bible.  I’ve read it three or four times and just adore the pace of the story, the setting, the “lostness” of the mother and daughter and I especially love that the father is never given his own voice in the narrative.

Now I’m reading The Lacuna.  I’ve put on picking it up for the fact that I’ve heard it’s tough, very cerebral, not an easy read.  During the summer, I can take time to sink my teeth in but generally during the school year, those types of labels keep me away.

But I was desperate for something good.  I didn’t want anything that would sort-of be worth reading.  I don’t have a lot of quiet time with a book, so I want it to be worth my while.

It’s fantastic.  Sigh.

Fantastic as in I’m going very slowly to make it last.  Fantastic as in I just like to have the book nearby even if I’m not reading it.  Fantastic.

The last book I read like this was Muriel Barbery’s The Elegance of the Hedgehog.  It was a beautiful read–sophisticated, thoughtful, very respectful of the reader.  And the copy is gorgeous.  That never hurts.

So I enjoy The Lacuna and hope it lasts a good long while.

 

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

