Blog-a-thon (term coined by Colin)

Parent-teacher conferences have arrived.  Report cards are looming.  I need to lighten my load a bit.  Hence, the blog-a-thon (named by a student after a full explanation)….

It’s blogging-only-homework for two weeks.  Teams of four each post to their blogs three times during the week.  Then they each comment on one post of each team member.  This way we 1) up the use of our blogs and commenting (=writing–don’t tell the kids), 2) lighten my preparation/evaluating load, and 3) learn more about one another through our posts.

So far so good.  I’ve reviewed 13 posts and 7 comments tonight.  I love it!  I’m learning a lot about the books my students chose to read and about what they value.  You see, two posts must be literature based and 1 is free choice.

Let the blog-a-thon roll on…

Leave a Reply

