The Help

Wow!

Initially the title made me think self-help and I don’t go for that.  Certainly I need all the help I can get but I’m not going to spend my precious reading time on self-help.

Miss Skeeter is amazing and Aibeleen and Milly are huge, round characters.  Hilly Hollbrock is just detestable and I love it!  Just today I was discussing characters and their traits with my students…

Direct vs. indirect description, round vs. flat and static vs. dynamic.  This set of four characters are round and planets and dynamic as tornadoes.

The ending was a satisfying closure with enough loose ends to make it believable and real.  This is one time where a second book (a follow-up) would be welcomed.

Leave a Reply

