The Lost City of Z

I’ve moved to wordpress just today.  I needed a bit more substance to my blog since I’m finding it such a guilty pleasure during the summer months.  When I’m off from work, I read a lot and to write about what I’m reading is the next best thing to picking up another book.

The Lost City of Z is quite good.  A semi-famous explorer tried to find this lost Amazon civilization and just plain disappeared.  Many groups attempted to find him ala “Dr. Livingstone, I presume,” but they all disappeared as well.  The author mounts his own search, of course.

The narrative bounces from the original explorer to our present-day author’s journey.  It’s compelling in a slowly-unfolding way.  And it doesn’t bounce back and forth too quickly either.  The pace truly fits my tonic and lime, on-the-patio, feet in the sunshine reading posture.

Leave a Reply

